Walk With Me

4-8-2014_OakRidgeFP (4)-2_PP

This was a good week for me to explore the Oak Ridge Forest Preserve. It’s large enough that it took me two visits to cover the entire park (by the trails only). The only bad thing about my visits was the fact that they had done controlled burns throughout the week. I know this is a necessary evil, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.4-8-2014_OakRidgeFP (22)_PP

For those of you that don’t know what a controlled burn is I will fill you in briefly. In this case the county Forest Preserve District starts the dead vegetation on fire. This burns quickly and does little harm to the mature trees in the forest. The plants have deep roots so burning them off does not kill them, they grow back. In theory they do this in order to help prevent forest fires during a dry summer. Although it does make the park look sad until the plants grow back.4-8-2014_OakRidgeFP (14)_PP

These are some of my favorite photos from the first visit this week. I spent about two and a half hours exploring on Tuesday afternoon. At that time only part of the park had been burned off. My main focus was to work on composition. I also wanted to try to get some good shots of wildlife. Since it was afternoon I knew that most likely that would be birds only. Hope you enjoy the photos.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

