Monochrome Madness Challenge – Dragonfly

Dragonfly on a tree limb

Here is my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge. My photograph is of a Common Whitetail Skimmer (Libellula lydia). It is a dragonfly that I happened to come across in my most recent trip to Deer Run Forest Preserve in Cherry Valley, Illinois.

There were a few of these making short stops along the edge of the large prairie section of the park. The sun was getting low to my left giving a good light on the fallen tree limb that this particular dragonfly decided to land on. I don’t normally take photographs of insects, but I could not pass up this opportunity.

Monochrome Madness Challenge is hosted by Leanne Cole and Laura Macky. Before I started participating in this challenge on a weekly basis I never thought to show my images in monochrome. Now I believe that I see the world a little bit different and consciously look for subject matter that will make great monochrome photographs. Please take some time to admire all of the amazing entries later today on Leanne Cole’s blog.

This entry was posted in Monochrome Madness Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monochrome Madness Challenge – Dragonfly

  1. lauramacky says:

    Nicely captured James. I love dragonflies. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice job James, a really cool subject.I was similar to yourself up until about a year ago. I never thought about B&W or how a colour shot would look in mono. Now 99% of my shots are mono, i just love it 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Grey Catbird | James Keegan

Leave a Reply

