Giant Swallowtail Butterfly

GiantSwallowtailButterfly_001As I was heading back to my vehicle at Severson Dells the other day I caught a glimpse of something  bright yellow bouncing around. I must have taken 30 photographs of this lovely creature. It’s wings moved so fast that I had to dial up the exposure speed of the camera making the images almost pitch black. Even when it would land on the the flower the upper wings were constantly moving.

GiantSwallowtailButterfly_003I have lived in northern Illinois my entire life and this is the first time I have ever seen one of these. I will admit that before I started my journey into photography I may not have had my eyes open toward seeing such beautiful things though. Enjoy these photos, I hope next time I come across a Giant Swallowtail that its closer to the edge of the forest and the lighting is better.

This entry was posted in Severson Dells FP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

