Bent

BentToday is the beginning of Blogging 201. I called this photograph “Bent” for obvious reasons. The first assignment for Blogging 201 is: consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve. 

I’ve put some thought in to this one and I think I’ve come up with some winners.

1) Come up with a new weekly feature by the end of November. I’ve been working on this one already for about a week. I really want it to be something different that everyone will enjoy.

2) Become better at commenting on the blogs of peers. I think that I spend plenty of time reading and liking other blogs, but I feel that commenting could be better. More thought or content for example. I have difficulties putting thoughts into words sometimes.

3) I want to double the number of followers that I currently have (170) by March 31, 2015. March will be one year since I started blogging in earnest. Although I created the page in August I did not decide what to blog about until March. I think this goal may be a little low and I hope to surpass it.

I don’t think my goals are overly complicated but they are things that I want to focus on along with getting better at photography that is. Have a great day!

P.S. Sorry if this one double posted, I had a bug when I posted the first time.

This entry was posted in Blogging 201 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bent

  1. Wearific! says:

    Hey there James, can you post a link to your blog? Your first goal about features was not completely clear so I thought I’d visit your blog but couldn’t find it!

    Like

  2. Carrie says:

    Gorgeous image James. The light is so golden and beautiful. Good luck with your goals, I really appreciate your work.

    Like

  3. You’ve gained at least one follower already. Good luck!

    Like

  4. Paddastoel says:

    The link is fixed now. I did not have any issue finding your blog.

    Your goals seem measurable and achievable.
    Perhaps if you set a minimum of 100 words per comment as a goal? It is just a suggestion.

    I don’t think there is anything that “everyone” enjoys.
    I honestly believe that you would benefit from defining your target audience and determining how your needs and theirs can be met at the same time.

    Like

  5. Lanah says:

    James, beautiful photograph! I’m a photographer for fun, and I believe that we get better at our “craft” with each photo we capture. I look forward to more, thank you for sharing, and good luck in your goals!

    Like

  6. katieprior says:

    Nice picture James! I can see you’ve put a lot of thought into your goals. Looking forward to seeing your progress on 201!

    Like

  7. jrrose80 says:

    Lovely photo! I think your goals are very good, especially the one on commenting on other blogs. I fully agree with your comment about putting thoughts into words. Sometimes a like is all I can muster!

    Like

  8. Mike Powell says:

    I love the background colors and patterns in your image–they make your subject much more compelling.
    It’s been fascinating to watch you go through Blogging 101 and into Blogging 201. I understand why they want you to set quantifiable goals, but I’d recommend that you don’t get too caught up in the numbers. Most of us are blogging for essentially personal reasons, seeking to find a way to express ourselves. Some folks will react favorably and some negatively, but many won’t react at all. I’m ok with that. There is a kind of randomness in the number of WordPress views and likes (and even the number of followers)–it’s hard to predict what will be “popular.” I like your idea of a weekly feature (and loved your list of suggestions in an earlier post) and I’d certainly encourage you to get a bit more involved on the blogs of others, but you should probably keep that within limits–you can spend all of the time with the work of others to the point where you neglect your own.

    I look forwards to seeing the continued evolution of your blog.

    Like

    • James Keegan says:

      Thank you for the feedback Mike. I’m not overly concerned with numbers for the most part. The only number that that would concern me is 0. After all we don’t share images to not be seen. I also know what you mean by limiting the amount of time spent on other blogs. With winter nearing and reports of another nasty one for here in the Midwest I’ve been out in the field as much as possible. I don’t mind taking walks in the cold but 30 below 0 is too cold for me. I’m also taking this fact into account while coming up with a new feature posting.

      Thank you again for the continued support.

      Like

  9. I’ve enjoyed your visions for awhile now James!!! Great goals and challenges!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

