Behind the Fall

Wildcat Canyon_0069

This photograph was taken standing behind the frozen waterfall in Wildcat Canyon. I was enthralled by the colors in the ice. I did have to do a little bit of editing to bring them out a bit in the photo.

We had a snow storm over the weekend. Somewhere around 9 to 12 inches in 18 hours with 35 mph winds. I’m hoping this will make for another good trip to Starved Rock, there are a few other waterfalls that I would like to visit.

Last week I purchased a new lens to add to my line up. I went with a 50mm prime that has a nice big aperture  (f1.8). If I did the math correctly on my cropped sensor it should equal about 75mm, making it a good lens for some portraiture. Now if only I could get my family to cooperate.  😉

This entry was posted in Starved Rock and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Behind the Fall

  1. Carrie says:

    So special, James. What a hidden gem of a place. I can hear the drips and cold from here.

    Like

  2. What a lovely image. I really like your use of negative space.

    Like

  3. Mike Powell says:

    Really cool shot, James. Good choice of your new lens–it’s amazing how much more light you get with a big aperture like f1.8. I used it to take some indoor shots at a wedding that I recently attended and was really happy with the results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

