One Year of Monochrome Madness

James Keegan_MMC_week 36It’s week 52 of Monochrome Madness Challenge. That makes it one year of Monochrome Madness. To commemorate the big day we were asked to choose our favorite image from the past year (above).

My first entry to MMC was during week 6. I was about one month into my blogging journey. I have learned so much about photography in the last year. Many of the things that I’ve learned have come from my fellow MMC participants.

Along the way I entered 43 photographs (I missed a couple of times). For week 26. the half-year post, we entered photographs that were in color but appeared to be black and white. Week 43 was the week of Christmas, we added a pop of color to our photographs for the special occasion.

As I compiled all of my images it was easy to see my growth as a photographer. It was not easy for me to choose a favorite. I started out by asking my wife to choose her favorite. Then I quickly went through all 43 photos and copied the ones that I liked the most. This process narrowed the list down to 7. Out of these I ended up going with my heart and choosing my image from week 36, the Two Barns on the Corner.

You will find a collection of favorite MMC entries on Leanne Cole’s blog later today. I have also included a gallery of all of my entries from the first year of Monochrome Madness. Feel free to leave comments on any of the photos in the gallery. I renamed each of them according to the week of the entry. I will do my best to keep up with them. I look forward to another amazing year of Monochrome Madness Challenge.

This entry was posted in Monochrome Madness Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to One Year of Monochrome Madness

  1. Boeta says:

    James they are really stunning….

    Like

  2. Carrie says:

    Great work, James! I just love seeing all of these in their own gallery. They are beautiful individually each week and as a group as well. I have learned so much with this challenge and getting an opportunity to see people’s work, like yours each week makes it a special opportunity.

    Like

  3. lauramacky says:

    Great images James. I love all your tree images especially. There’s something compelling about the stark branches.

    Like

  4. A wonderful collection of images.

    Like

  5. solaner says:

    a fantastic collection. You also have had a hard job sieving you #1. I guess, I’d have picked your week 6 or week 48 photo. nevertheless: well done, James!

    Like

    • James Keegan says:

      I liked both of those as well. I look at the week 6 photograph often. When I took that photograph I had just recently bought my DSLR and I really wasn’t all the sure of what I was doing. I have come a long way since that early spring day, but I think it was that image that really made me feel that I could take beautiful photographs.

      Like

  6. Great gallery of images, James. I think I agree with your choice of #36, but it wasn’t an easy pick. Thanks for putting them all together.

    Like

  7. Robyn G says:

    This is such a wonderful gallery of beautiful images James!
    One whole year of MM – fun 🙂

    Like

  8. Wonderful monochrome James and such a variety!! It’s hard to pick a favourite but week 11 and week 13 speak to me – but I love your monochrome flowers too!!!

    Like

  9. kazg10 says:

    Thanks for sharing your gallery James, it was wonderful. I have commented but there were so many great shots I didn’t remark on them all… outstanding body of work 🙂

    Like

  10. Truels says:

    Wow , I am impressed so many times you have contributed fine monochrome photos. Great collection!

    Like

Leave a Reply

