Migrating Ducks

Bufflehead_0011

I have two photographs for you today. They are not my best b any means, but I wanted to show you that if you are aware of your surroundings you might just see something different.

The other day while I was working I saw three ducks swimming in a small pond by the local pool in Rochelle IL. After I finished working I took a drive by the pool to see if they were still there They were! Ducks are more skittish than the local Canada Geese seem to be so it is difficult to get close enough to them with a 300mm lens.

The photo above is what I believe to be two Buffleheads (Bucephala albeola). The photo below is of a Canvasback (Aythya valisineria). They were swimming together and when I attempted to get closer the swam in the opposite direction. I also saw a half-dozen Hooded Mergansers (Lophodytes cucullatus) in another small pond also in Rochelle. I wasn’t able to get close enough to them before they flew away. Enjoy!

Canvasback_0027

This entry was posted in Rochelle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

