Afternoon with Geese

Canada Goose_0076

Yesterday afternoon I spent some time with two Canada Geese. They were on the bank of the Kishwaukee River at the Kilbuck Bluffs Forest Preserve. I watched and photographed them from several different angles to the river. It was clear to me from the start that the two were mates. The larger of the two (top image) always positioned himself between me and his mate.

Canada Geese_0057I found it interesting to watch this process. I took my time moving around and slowly crept closer to the geese. I was able to get about 15 feet (3 to 4 meters) away from the pair without agitating them. I will check back here in a couple of days to see if this pair nests here.

I also have some great news. I have taken on a contract position as an assistant web designer. Some of you may recall that I originally started this blog as an investigation on how WordPress worked for web site development. I’m happy to say that my work here was one of the factors that lead to me being offered the position. I also want to mention that there may be some interference with my posting habits over the next couple of weeks while I get settled in. I will be learning a lot and will need to work hard to prove myself. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Killbuck Bluffs Forest Preserve and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Afternoon with Geese

  1. Leanne Cole says:

    Congratulations Jimmy, great news about the job. Good luck with it.
    I love the geese, actually I think I just love geese, such great birds.

    Like

    • James Keegan says:

      Thank you Leanne. Your support and willingness to share knowledge has been a great influence for me.

      I’ve lived here in Northern Illinois all of my life and remember that as a young man these geese were rare. Now they are everywhere.

      Like

  2. Mike Powell says:

    Congratulations. Best wishes with your new position. Where I live, people either love or hate Canada Geese–I am in the former category. It’s fascinating for me to watch their interactions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

