Dried Seed Pods in Spring Sun

Thistle Seed Pods_0009

I managed to find a little time on Saturday to stop at Blackhawk Springs Forest Preserve before I had to be at work. I think these are the remains of some sort of thistle. In the second photo I tried out my new 50mm lens with a large aperture (f 1.8) The bokeh  is nice but I had to stay at a decent distance from the plant. I didn’t notice the insect at first.

Insect on a Seed Pod_0011

I switched to my zoom lens to get a closer shot of the tiny visitor. Yesterday was the first day at my new job and all went well. I will have weekends off now so I hope to be able to collect plenty of photographs. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Blackhawk Springs Forest Preserve and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dried Seed Pods in Spring Sun

  1. gahlearner says:

    The plant is a teasel, Dipsacus spec. 🙂

    Like

  2. loving the DOF in this James!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

